Scene from a blog post:

Our author, having poured one of the evening’s special libations for his sweetie, while mixing his own: “So, is this gonna end me?”

Said sweetie, having sipped a bit on hers: *sick laugh*

My mother once told me that people order martinis because it’s kind of embarassing to walk up to a bartender and say “Excuse me, I’d like a big ol’ glass of straight vodka, really cold”. Wise words.

(And, for that matter, she told me that the best way to make a dry martini was to put in the vodka and the olive and wave the shaker in the general direction of the vermouth bottle.)

With that sound advice I plunged headlong into tonight’s offering, the “Special Daiquiri Cocktail.”

Special Daiquiri Cocktail

Special Daiquiri Cocktail

Special Daiquiri Cocktail

1 jigger rum
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. lime juice
4 to 5 mint leaves

Blend above, ice, and shake well.

–Mrs. George S. Miles

Oh my.

This…this is a tasty, tasty cocktail. Were I the proprietor of a trendy bistro I would put it on the menu in place of the mojito, as a more elegent take on that South American standby that requires no muddling and looks smashing in a cocktail glass adorned with mint leaves. It is light, delicious, pretty, and requires very little in the way of mixology: mint, rum, sugar, and lime juice. What could be more simple? Of the cocktails I’ve encountered so far in our journey through Junior League arcana, this is far and away the best: minty and refreshing, not too sweet, not too sour…just lovely.

I took “blend” to mean “mix,” because it’s called a cocktail and I imagined that adding ice to and shaking a blender-blended drink would be a little beside the point. Also, I bruised and tore the mint before adding it so as to better infuse the rum with minty goodness, saving a leaf for garnish.

And, in the spirit of full disclosure, this cocktail hits like a sap to the back of the head. But just as really good food is often not so great for the arteries, sometimes we must sacrifice the odd brain cell for a truly exemplary cocktail.

So, you know, enjoy in good health, but don’t make any plans.

