Between my work and recent travels, I find myself a little short on time to do Junior League cooking this week.  However, we have been cooking.  Brady made me a ridiculously good bratwurst with sliced apples and onions in a cream sauce this evening… he says this is Normandy-style, which is something of a departure from Wisconsin-style, which just involves boiling them in Pabst, then grilling them.

And I also applied what I’d learned from the Junior League of Oakland-East Bay this weekend when I was visiting a friend in San Francisco.  While she was at work, I hit the local farmers market, and made her a meal that was fresh, local, organic, and seasonal:  zucchini and red onion quiche, roasted fingerling potatoes, and a peach-blueberry tart.

But in Junior League cooking news, I have two very exciting and fun cookbooks coming up in the next couple of weeks from two places that you might not think of when you think of the Junior League – Honolulu and Las Vegas.

So stay tuned as I try to figure out where to buy “long rice,” how one makes shrimp taste good in a landlocked state, and how to eat Spam and like it.

But until then, here’s my recipe for zucchini and red onion quiche.  In cooking, I find that you usually get out about what you put into a dish.  This is one notable exception – it’s so easy and quick (especially if you use a frozen pie crust, which is not my preference, but hey, there are only so many hours in a day), but also so summery and fresh and good.

Zucchini and Red Onion Quiche

2 zucchini, thinly sliced
1 red onion, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon fresh basil
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme (or 1 teaspoon fresh)
salt and pepper, to taste
2/3 cup fresh mozzarella, shredded or diced
3-5 eggs (depending on how deep your pie plate is)
1/3 cup milk
salt and pepper, to taste
1 9-inch pie crust

Saute the sliced onion in olive oil for 5 minutes, then add the zucchini, basil and thyme. Season with salt and pepper to taste, and saute until vegetables are tender. Add this mixture to a pie crust that has been baked at 375 degrees for 10-15 minutes (if you don’t pre-bake it before the eggs go in, it will be soggy), and top with fresh mozzarella.

Whisk eggs, milk, salt and pepper until well blended. Pour egg mixture into the pie crust and bake at 375 degrees for 35 minutes, or until eggs are set.

